Technical Program Details

Submit Abstract
Abstracts are due by January 15, 2018

Technical topics to be covered during this conference include, but are not limited to:

  • Advanced (including in situ) characterization of deformation processes
  • Elementary deformation mechanisms in engineering materials
  • Fracture and fatigue
  • Friction and wear
  • Glasses and non-crystalline solids
  • High temperature deformation and creep
  • Materials under extreme conditions
  • Mechanical behavior associated with phase transformations
  • Mechanistic foundations for multiscale modeling and ICME
  • Micro- and nano-scale mechanical testing
  • Effects of grain boundaries and interfaces
  • Reinforcements at the sub-nanometer scale
  • Strength of biomedical and bio-inspired materials
  • John P. Hirth and Hael Mughrabi Honorary Symposia
  • Emerging topics

Confirmed Plenary Speakers Include:

Easo George, USA
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Mechanical Properties of High-Entropy Alloys – Review of Recent Developments
View Abstract
Dierk Raabe, EU
Advancing Alloys by Segregation Engineering
View Abstract
Ke Lu, China
Institute of Metal Research, CAS
Hardening and Softening in Nano-grained Metals
View Abstract
Erica Lilleodden, EU
Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht
Achieving Extraordinary Strengths by Varying Length Scales and Boundary Conditions
View Abstract
Laurence Brassart, Australia
Monash University
Micromechanics of Highly Cross-linked Thermosets
View Abstract
Kaneaki Tsuzaki, Japan
Kyushu University
Metallurgical Aspects of Fatigue Crack Growth Resistance in Steel: How Can We Improve it through Microstructure Control?
View Abstract
Dorte Juul-Jensen, EU
Technical University of Denmark
Metal Microstructures and Properties in 3D and 4D
View Abstract
Carolin Koerner, EU
University of Erlangen
Evolution of Microstructure and Material Properties during Additive Manufacturing
View Abstract

Invited Speakers Include

  • John Allison, University of Michigan
  • Peter Anderson, The Ohio State University
  • Stephen Antolovich, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Ronald Armstrong, University of Maryland
  • Irene Beyerlein, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Brad Boyce, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Christian Brandl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Jonathan Cormier, CNRS - The National Center for Scientific Research
  • Michael Demkowicz, Texas A&M University
  • Gunther Eggeler, Ruhr University Bochum
  • Dietmar Eifler, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Jaafar El-Awady, Johns Hopkins University
  • Anter El-Azab, Purdue University
  • David Embury, McMaster University
  • Michael Falk, Johns Hopkins University
  • Katharine Flores, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Maryam Ghazisaedi, The Ohio State University
  • Nasr Ghoniem, University of California Los Angeles
  • Daniel Gianola, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Javier Gil Sevillano, University of Navarra
  • Mathias Göken, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Peter Gumbsch, Fraunhofer IWM
  • Craig Hartley, Florida Atlantic University
  • Eric Homer, Brigham Young University
  • James Howe, University of Virginia
  • Michael Kassner, University of Southern California
  • Christoph Kirchlechner, Max-Planck-Institut
  • Jessica Krogstad, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Richard Kurtz, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Bennett Larson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Lei Lu, IMR, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Suveen Mathaudhu, University of California Riverside
  • Herwig Mayer, BOKU University Vienna
  • Douglas Medlin, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Matthew Miller, Cornell University
  • Michael Mills, The Ohio State University
  • Andrew Minor, University of California Berkeley
  • Hael Mughrabi, U Erlangen-Nurnberg
  • Jagdish Narayan, NSCU
  • Steffen Neumeier, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Jian-Feng Nie, Monash University
  • Wolfgang Pantleon, Technical University of Denmark
  • George Pharr, Texas A&M University
  • Adam Pilchak, US Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Tresa Pollock, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Robert Pond, University of Exeter
  • David Rigney, The Ohio State University
  • Robert Ritchie, University of California Berkeley
  • Brian Sheldon, Brown University
  • Chad Sinclair, University of British Columbia
  • Frans Speapen, Harvard University
  • David Srolovitz, University of Pennsylvania
  • Aaron P Stebner, Colorado School of Mines
  • Charles Stinville, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Carlos Tome, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Patrick Villechaise, CNRS - The National Center for Scientific Research
  • Robert Wagoner, The Ohio State University
  • Jian Wang, University of Nebraska Lincoln
  • Yunzhi Wang, The Ohio State University
  • Janelle Wharry, Purdue University
  • Hussein Zbib, Washington State University
  • Xinghang Zhang, Purdue University
  • Yuntian Zhu, North Carolina State University

Conference technical sessions and poster sessions will be held at the Ohio Union (above) on the campus of The Ohio State University

Abstract Submissions

To be considered as a presented at ICSMA 18, submit your abstract to ProgramMaster by January 15, 2018.

If you have a question regarding abstract submission, please e-mail TMS Programming Staff.

For examples of technical topics presented during the last iteration of this conference, view the ICSMA 17 final program.

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
U.S. & Canada Only: 1–800-759-4867
Other Countries: 1–724-776-9000, ext. 241
Fax: 1-724-776-3770